Murray River National Park is divided into three separate areas: Katarapko (Winkie), Lyrup Flats (Lyrup) and Bulyong Island (Renmark).

Katarapko is also divided into three sections Lock 4 section, Eckert’s Creek section and Katarapko Creek section (not far from Berri). Each section has a separate entrance so you’ll need to make sure you know which section you want to visit before you enter.

Katarapko Creek flows through the park and is a great spot for a waterfront camping holiday. Swimming, great canoeing and kayaking, fishing, mountain biking, bushwalking and birdwatching are some some of the activities you can do together as a family.

The campsites themselves are huge but make sure you read the description of each camp site before you book online as some have steep banks leading to the water. There is a good write up for each site on the Parks SA website to help you make the right choice. There are around 40 unpowered sites you can book for as little as $12.50 a night!

There’s a few great playgrounds to check out while you’re in the area too. Monash and Loxton are under an hour and Karoonda is a good one to stop at if you’re coming from Adelaide.

Please note: Multiple campsites and roads within the Katarapko section of Murray River National Park will be closed from Tuesday 29 January 2019 to Friday 10 April 2020 to construct the infrastructure for the Katarapko Floodplain Inundation Project. The project aims to improve floodplain and wetland health, better manage water cycles and improve the health and condition of the vegetation and ecology. Visit the Parks SA website for more information >> click here

Thanks to KiA friend Matty for this post.